Affordable Car Insurance in NC: Best Rates in Gastonia
By state law, any car or truck with valid registration in the state of North Carolina must have insurance. With over 200,000 miles of open roads that can take you from the scenic countryside to the extravagant nightlife of downtown, you can’t afford not to be able to jump behind the wheel to explore the Tar Heel State.
But, does that mean you need coverage you can’t afford? Here at Elite Insurance, we strive to provide drivers with the most affordable car insurance in NC.
North Carolina Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements
While drivers know that they need auto insurance, they may not be aware of what the state minimums are.
The state of North Carolina requires drivers to carry liability coverage as well as coverage for uninsured/underinsured motorists. Below is a breakdown of the minimum coverage limits required in the state of NC.
$30,000 Bodily Injury Liability Per Person
$60,000 Bodily Injury Liability Per Incident
$25,000 Property Damage Liability Per Incident
$30,000 UMBI Per Person
$60,000 UMBI Per Incident
$25,000 UMPD Per Incident
Before raising concern over being required to carry coverage of uninsured motorists, understand that this requirement is put in place to protect insured drivers.
A 2012 study showed that nine percent of drivers in North Carolina are uninsured. While this is lower than the national average, it does not mean they are not a risk to be taken seriously.
Uninsured motorists may not be able to cover the cost of any damages to your vehicle or person in a collision. This coverage prevents you from dealing with the financial burden of such an event.
Optional NC Insurance Coverages
Minimum coverage is enough to get a vehicle on the road. It does not mean you are limited in terms of protecting yourself.
More coverage may raise your insurance fees but can ultimately bring down the cost of more significant expenses in the future. Below is a list of additional coverages North Carolina drivers can choose to include.
Towing and labor
Customized parts and equipment
Audio, visual, and data electronic equipment
Extended transportation expense (or rental car)
According to the North Carolina Law, insurance companies are not allowed to deny high-risk drivers auto insurance. Instead, if a driver is considered to be of high-risk insurance companies may enroll them in the Reinsurance Facility.
The North Carolina Reinsurance Facility’s aim is to aid drivers with poor credit, DUI’s, or other factors by providing coverage that meets state minimum requirements. Below are the coverages drivers may attain through this program.
Bodily injury liability per person: $100,000
Bodily injury liability per accident: $300,000
Property damage liability per accident: $50,000
Medical payments coverage per person: $2,000
Uninsured motorist coverage per person: $1,000,000
What Can Impact Your Rates?
It’s important to understand that not every driver will attain the same rates through an insurance company.
Postal codes, vehicle make and model, driving records, and more will all impact how your rates are calculated in the Tar Heel State. These are the factors that are taken into account:
Zip Code of the Vehicle
Year/Make/Model of the Vehicle
Main Driving Purpose
Driving Record/SDIP Points
Even with a clean driving record, young drivers typically have higher insurance rates than older, more experienced drivers. This can make it difficult for drivers in their twenties to find affordable insurance. It does not mean young drivers must settle for what they can get or cut out coverages they may need in the future. Instead, it drives the importance of shopping for insurance quotes.
Safe Driver’s Incentive Plan
Safe driving is promoted in the state of North Carolina with the use of the Safe Drivers Incentive Plan (SDIP). This system uses points that act as penalties for violations and at-fault accidents. A certain number of points can be added per incident, which will raise insurance fees. A single point may increase insurance fees by as much as 30 percent.
This system is used to reward safe driving. Good drivers with clean driving records are sure to be provided with the lowest possible rates, while poor drivers will be penalized for their bad driving habits. Motivating drivers to reach lower insurance rates is just one way North Carolina works to keep drivers safe.
Auto Insurance Maintenance
In any case, it’s essential to maintain your auto insurance, but the state of North Carolina actively enforces it. If you fail to make payments or reinstate your insurance plan, the insurance company is required by law to inform the DMV.